School Community Council (SCC)

Read what the School Community Council has accomplished thus far this school year: SCC Mid-Year Accomplishments 2017-18

The School Community Council (SCC) is a shared governance council formed by the parents and staff of Riley Elementary in accordance with state law. The SCC was established in 1974 by the Salt Lake School Board, which has empowered each SCC to make decisions regarding their school.
The SCC is a cooperative means to improving the educational programs and conditions of the school. It is the responsibility of the SCC to decide all issues on the basis of what is in the best interest of the children.

The SCC is responsible for approving and reviewing the Land Trust state expenditures annually.  Here is a report showcasing Riley’s use of Land Trust funds from last year: Land Trust Final Report

Who are the members of SCC? Parents, Faculty, and Principal.

What are typical issues addressed by the SCC? School Improvement Plan, Achievement, School Calendar, and School Trust Land Issues

When does the council meet?  The council meets monthly at 5:30 pm.  


Meet our committee serving for the 2018-2019 school year!  

Sue Suitor 385-250-5035 Chair (parent)  
Shawna Govero 

801-792-1833 Vice Chair (parent)  
Dan Aragon 801-974-8310 Principal / Director  
Christi Paulson 801-974-8310        School  Employee  
Dimitrius Cage   Parent  
Maria Gomez   Parent  
Isabel Gonzalez   Parent  
Juana Alvarez          Parent  


School Community Council Meetings 2018 - 2019

Meeting Date Agendas Minutes
September 20, 2018 Spanish, Spanish, , English
October 17, 2018 English, Spanish
November 15, 2018 English

© Riley Elementary School | Salt Lake City School District